Statutory Appointments

Section 40 of the International Air Services Commission Act 1992 provides that members of the Commission are to be appointed by the Governor-General. A member may be appointed on a full-time or a part-time basis.

The list below provides the details of appointments of members of the Commission. This list is published in accordance with the requirements for the Information Publication Scheme (IPS) under the Freedom of Information Act 1982.

Current International Air Services Commissioners

Position Appointee Date of Effect Expiry Act and relevant Section under which
appointment is made
Chairperson Dr Jill Walker 09-Feb-2011 08-Feb-2014   International Air Services Commission Act 1992Subsection 40(1)
Member Dr Ian Douglas 08-Nov-2012 07-Nov-2015
Member Mr John King 01-July-2013 30-June-2016

Past and Present International Air Services Commissioners

  Chairs   Period   Members   Period
Stuart Fowler July 1992 to
April 1993
Brian Johns July 1992 to
June 1997
James Bain July 1993 to
June 1998
Russell Miller July 1992 to
June 1998
Russell Miller July 1998 to
January 2000
Michael Lawriwsky December 1997 to February 2007
Michael Lawriwsky and Stephen Lonergan (Members presiding at alternate meetings) January 2000 to August 2000 Stephen Lonergan August 1998 to August 2004
Ross Jones August 2000 to August 2003 Vanessa Fanning November 2004 to November 2007
John Martin November 2003 to November 2009 Philippa Stone July 2007 to July 2010
Philippa Stone and Ian Smith (Members presiding at alternate meetings) November 2009 to June 2010 Ian Smith November 2007 to February 2011
Jill Walker 9 February 2011 to 11 August 2014 Stephen Bartos July 2010 to July 2013
    Ian Douglas 8 November 2012 to 7 November 2015
    John King 1 July 2013 to 30 June 2016


Last Updated: 19 April, 2016